9th ICHRE Conference, International Conference on Human Rights Education - Committees

Organizing & International Advisory Committees


Dr Sev Ozdowski AM FAICD

Foundation Convenor & Series Coordinator, International Conferences on Human Rights Education
President, Australian Council for Human Rights Education
Director, Equity and Diversity, Western Sydney University, Australia


  • Prof Kevin Dunn Dean, School of Social Sciences and Psychology, Western Sydney University
  • Mr Patrick Earle Executive Director, The Diplomacy Training Program, Faculty of Law, University of NSW
  • Dr Zeny Edwards Immediate Past Director, UNAA Peace Program
  • Prof Steven Freeland Dean, School of Law & Professor of International Law, Western Sydney University
  • Prof Paula Gerber Deputy Director of the Castan Centre for Human Rights Law, Monash University
  • Mr Cameron Lionel Murphy AM Barrister & former President, NSW Council for Civil Liberties
  • Prof Lisa Jackson Pulver Pro Vice-Chancellor, Engagement and Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Leadership, Western Sydney University
  • Ms Kerry Weste President, Australian Lawyers for Human Rights Associate
  • Prof Joseph Zajda Australian Catholic University and Trustee, Australian Council for Human Rights Education


  • Ms Barbara Weber Global Director, Human Rights Education, Amnesty International, UK
  • Ms Francesca Marotta Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, Geneva
  • Dr Reinhild Otte Council of Europe Expert, Democratic Citizenship and Human Rights, France


  • Prof Emily Alemika Faculty of Law, University of Jos, Plateau State, Nigeria
  • Adv Mohamed Shafie Ameermia Commissioner, South African Human Rights Commission, South Africa
  • Mr Solomon Atibuni Department of Religion and Peace Studies, Makerere University, Uganda
  • Prof Jessica Ezekiel-Hart Rivers State University of Education, Port Harcourt, Nigeria
  • Ms Kay Kyohairwe President, Uganda Coalition for Human Rights Education, Uganda
  • Ms Irene Limo Coordinator, Peacemaking Unit, ACCORD, South Africa
  • Prof John Mubangizi Convenor of 2nd ICHRE, and Dean, Faculty of Law, University of The Free State, South Africa


  • Dr Usha Ajithkumar MK Director-Research, Socio-Economic Research Institute, New Delhi, India
  • Prof Surya Dhungel Kathmandu University School of Law and Chair, LawMan, Inc., Nepal
  • Mr Frank Elbers Convenor of 6th ICHRE and Visiting Fellow, Lebanese American University, Lebanon
  • Prof Shiow Duan Hawang Chang Fo-chuan Center for the Study of Human Rights, Soochow University, Taiwan
  • Prof Mab Huang Convenor of 4th ICHRE, and Professor, Soochow University, Taiwan
  • Mr Samson Salamat Director, Centre for Human Rights Education and Chair, Rwadari Tehreek, Pakistan
  • Dr Herlambang P. Wiratraman Director, Human Rights Law Studies Centre, Faculty of Law, Universitas Airlangga, Indonesia


  • Prof Boguslawa Bednarczyk Director of the Human Rights Centre, Jagiellonian University, Poland
  • Justice Christian Byk Judge, Court of Appeals and Member, French Commission for UNESCO, France
  • Ms Beris Gwynne Former Diplomat and Aid Official, NGO Executive, Switzerland
  • Ms Marie Louise Høj Johannessen Department Director, The Danish Institute for Human Rights, Denmark
  • Prof Peter G. Kirchschläger Director of the Institute of Social Ethics ISE, University of Lucerne, Switzerland
  • Prof Morten Kjaerum Director, Raoul Wallenberg Institute of Human Rights and Humanitarian Law, Sweden
  • Prof Barbara Oomen Co-convenor 6th ICHRE and Professor, Sociology of Human Rights, University College Roosevelt, The Netherlands
  • Prof Audrey Osler University College of Southeast Norway, Norway and University of Leeds, UK
  • Prof Bogdan Szlachta Convenor of 3rd ICHRE, and Professor, Jagiellonian University, Poland


  • Prof Claudio Grossman Dean, Washington College of Law, American University, USA
  • Mr Ian Hamilton Convenor of 8th ICHRE, and Executive Director, Equitas, Canada
  • Prof Errol P. Mendes Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa, Canada
  • Prof Felisa Tibbitts Teachers College of Columbia University, USA and Utrecht University, Netherlands
  • Professor Joseph Wronka Professor of Social Work, Springfield College, USA


  • Prof Eduardo Carlos Bittar Department of Philosophy and General Theory, University of Sao Paulo, Brasil
  • Ms Claire Lacdao Indigenous Peoples’ Advocate, PANLIPI, Costa Rica
  • Prof Abraham K. Magendzo Universidad Academia de Humanismo Cristiano and UNESCO Chair on HRE, Chile
  • Prof Matías Penhos Centro de Derechos Humanos Emilio Mignone, Universidad Nacional de Quilmes, Argentina
  • Prof Myrna Villegas Directora, Centro de Derechos Humanos, Facultad de Derecho, Universidad de Chile, Chile